Architectures&Architects
Madhura Prematilleke
Sri Lanka

Intro:

Madhura Prematilleke, principal of teaM Architrave Colombo, is a Sri Lankan Architect and Urban Designer. Madhura studied architecture at Moratuwa (Sri Lanka) and Helsinki, and has worked in Sri Lanka, Finland, India, China, Oman and the Maldives.  He has lectured and taught extensively at international conferences and universities.

Honour:

teaM Architrave has won 13 design awards and their work has been published internationally, including in the Phaidon Atlas of Contemporary Architecture, Beyond Bawa, Architectural Review, Architectural Design, A+U, and Asian Design Destinations. Competitions wins include the Jaffna Cultural Centre (2010) and the new wing of the Colombo Town Hall (1999).

Case:

 

URBAN GARDEN
This is a small garden, both contemplative and playful. It has an unusual relationship to the house it serves, being on a plot annexed as an afterthought: though the two are remote, they bond via a long visual axis and a pathway. The central contemplative structure is a wooden pavilion sitting within a reflecting pool, organized on a strict zen-like axis from the entrance. But the severity is broken by the folly of its nest-like lattice. The ‘nest’ idiom is also a tongue-in-cheek allusion to the much larger and much more flamboyant ‘nests’ that have inhabited the architectural world in the recent past. A tromp o’leil of a fantasy forest adorns the back-drop wall, creating a pathway -through the pavilion- from the real to the unreal. A second such illusion creates a doorway through which the visitor unexpectedly glimpses neighbors in historical garb at what appears to be a party.

 
 
 
CENTRAL FINANCE, ANURADHAPURA
An office building located in the new town of the ancient capital of Anuradhapura (500 BC – 400 AD). A red brick ‘Vahalkada’ or entrance gateway makes reference to the historical context of the place, and contrasts with the glass façade of the simple block behind it. The ‘Vahalkada’ forms a gateway to the building itself and to future stages of construction that would follow. Despite the glass façade, the building is completely naturally-ventilated. Windows open on both longer sides to allow the breeze in, and a central skylight running the length of the structure acts as a hot air extractor. The glass is continually shaded by the large trees in the forecourt, which were saved as part of principal design strategy.

建筑师·建筑

Madhura Prematilleke
斯里兰卡

人物介绍:

Madhura Prematilleke,斯里兰卡建筑师及城市设计师,他带领的 teaM Architrave 团队已经成为科伦坡主力建筑设计团队。Madhura曾在斯里兰卡的莫勒图沃及芬兰的赫尔辛基学习建筑设计,并在斯里兰卡、芬兰、印 度、中国、阿曼和马尔代夫参与项目设计。同时,他还积极参与大学教学,及国际会议演讲活动。

个人荣誉:

teaM Architrave的诸多设计作品被收录进《费顿当代世界建筑图集》、《超越巴厘岛》、《建筑评论》、《建筑设计》、《A+U》、《亚洲顶级酒店设 计》。他们已获得13项设计大奖,其参与的竞赛设计包括贾夫纳文化中心(2010),科伦坡市政厅新翼(1999)。

案例分享:

 

城市花园
这是一个充满趣味却引人沉思的小型花园。住房与其紧密相连,两者间的距离由一条幽长的小道及一目了然的轴线贯穿。清澈明亮的水池中央是木质沉思亭,入口的通道充满禅意,巢状格架打破了原有的严谨氛围。同时,关于“巢”的习语也讽刺性地暗示了近代建筑里庞大且浮夸的人居巢。绮丽森林般的背景墙,营造出一条如同由现实通往虚幻的小径。瞬间的错觉甚至能让来访者误以为瞥见了古装舞会。

 
 
 
阿奴拉达普勒中央财政办公楼
办公楼坐落于阿奴拉达普勒古都(公元前500-公元400)的新城内。红砖“Vahalkada”及入口通道的设计都完整地再现了历史,与之形成对比的是大楼的玻璃表皮设计。“Vahalkada”铺成的通道与大楼相连,并延向后期建设。玻璃表皮的设计完全没有影响大楼的自然通风——微风从两侧流入,热量便由中央的天窗散出。在这里,偌大的树荫则与设计连为一体。