Architectures&Architects
Simon Velez
Colombia

Intro:

The son and grandson of architects, Simon Velez was born in Manizales, Colombia, in 1949. Simon received a bachelor from Universidad de Los Andes in 1968. After graduation, he designed several houses at Orinoco national park with natural materials. Simon who is famous for the use of natural materials in the world, is a representative of Low-Tech Ecological architecture. He designs with a commitment to convert bamboo from a symbol of poverty into a symbol of sustainability.

Honour:

Simon received the American Society of Landscape Architects 2006 Analysis and Planning Award of Honor for a bamboo bridge in Crosswaters Ecolodge. In December 2009 he received The Principal Prince Claus Award for his contribution towards a positive interaction between culture and development.

Case:

 

This church is in the center of Pereira. The roof is supported by bent Guadua culms, which give a gothic and organic impression at the same time. The supports consist of five Guadua poles, that run from the ground to the roof. Visitors experience a wonderful light interior that is lively as well as devout.

 

Bamboo Bridge
The bamboo bridge is a landmark piece of architecture in Crosswaters Ecolodge (Nankun Mountain Reserve, Guangdong). There are only three bamboo bridges in the world, and one of them is in China. The bridge is made from bamboo of 12 cm in diameter. It s not a Chinese traditional bridge type, but an umbrella - shaped bridge.

建筑师·建筑

Simon Velez
哥伦比亚

人物介绍:

西蒙•维列,1949年2月2日出生于哥伦比亚马尼萨莱斯的一个建筑世家。1968年,西蒙进入波哥大安第斯大学学习建筑及艺术。毕业后,他利用天然材料 在奥里诺科河国家公园等地设计了一系列住宅楼宇。西蒙•维列是低技术生态建筑的代表人物之一——善于使用低成本建筑材料——尤其是天然材料的运用。所以, 其设计主要服务于贫苦大众,为那些挣扎于贫困线下的穷人建造住宅。此外,他潜心研究建筑屋顶的设计,并自称“屋顶建筑师”。

个人荣誉:

2006年,西蒙凭借“Crosswaters度假村”项目获得美国社会景观建筑师分析和规划奖。2009年12月,由于他为文化及发展之间的和谐发展而做出的贡献,荣获了克劳斯亲王奖。

案例分享:

 

佩雷拉中心大教堂
该项目位于哥伦比亚佩雷拉市的中心地带,屋顶由弯曲的瓜达竹支撑,充满浓郁的哥特风格。每5根瓜达竹组成一组,从地面延伸到屋顶。明媚的灯光点亮了整个室内空间,生动且虔诚。

 

竹桥
竹桥是十字水的标志性建筑,在全世界仅有三座,中国只此一家。巨大的桥体由直径12厘米的粗竹交迭构造,却非传统中国桥梁形制,而是雄浑的伞状结构,在现代风格中透出印加酋邦的辽远古意。