Architectures&Architects
WISE
Korea

Intro:

Young Jang, AIA, LEED AP, born in 1970, received his Master of Architecture from University of California, Berkeley after received Bachelor of Science in Architecture from Hongik University in Korea. Sook Hee Chun, AIA, LEED AP, born in 1975, received her Master of Architecture from Princeton University after received BS in Architecture from Ewha Womans University in Korea. They are registered architects whose background includes such major international design firms as Rafael Vinoly Architects, Steven Holl Architects, and Gwathmey Siegel & Associates Architects in New York, and Iroje Architects and Planners, Seoul, Korea. After jointly establishing WISE Architecture in 2008, the two recently completed ‘The ABC Building’, ‘Fortress Wall House’ in Seoul,‘¾ & 1¼’ House in Yi-Cheon, Korea. And also, they have participated in many architectural art activities such as ’Yi Sang’s House’ project in collaboration with other artists, and planned and exhibited ‘Box Mobile Galley”(2010), ‘Bamboo Pavilion’(2011), ‘Red Tubing House’(2012) in public.

Honour:

WISE won The Best Prize of Seoul City Architectural Awards with “The Museum of War & Women Human Rights”in 2012 and 4th Korean Young Architects Awards in 2011. And also, Jang and Chun worked as architectural instructors at Korea National University of Arts and are teaching at Ewha Womans University.

Case:

 

The Museum of War and the Women’s Human Rights
WWHR Museum opened in may 2012 to stop violence against women in armed conflict regions that is happening around the women in addition to internationally arising issue of “comfort woman” who were forced to be sexual slaves for Japanese soldiers during Pacific War Period by Empire of Japan. The museum records the turbulent history of women drafted into sexual slavery by the Japanese military and is the result of nine years of efforts by civil society. Built in a renovated home on the foothills of Mt. Seongmi in Seoul’s Mapo district, the museum has two stories and a basement level, for a total area of 308 square meters. The overall of the museum progresses as a narrative museum, where the orientation of the exhibits goes through recollection, reflection, recovery and record. The stone walls of the staircase leading up from the basement are engraved with final words from former “comfort women” who have since passed away. Black bricks, main building material of the Museum, symbolized an epitaph of tragic history of comfort woman who are grandmother or passed away. The brick screen wall conveys the layered history of old and now as linked to the present. The space behind the brick screen wall is moaning place for passed-away grandmothers who had painful memory. On each brick, there is a photo and remain words of the grandmothers. Each brick of the façade is suggestive of suffering and plight of women throughout history.
 

The Bamboo House
There were 12 abandoned houses in a small local town, Kasang-ri, Kyung-book, Korea  after people who used to live in the house left for the cities and only houses remain. The Bamboo house was built after dismantling parts of a 300 years old abandoned house and placing bamboo screen wall and roof over the house. The bamboo screen permits the wind to blow through and guests to view the sky from within. It is currently used as a tourist information center. The rebirth and abandoned house created a space for residents and tourist alike. The creation of the bamboo house was a process of removal. That is, what to remove and what to keep of the old house structure had to be decided prior to add more materials to  the dismantled house to create a useful space.

建筑师·建筑

WISE
韩国

人物介绍:

Young Jang,美国建筑师协会及认证专家,生于1970年。Sook Hee Chun,美国建筑师协会及认证专家,生于1975年。前者在韩国弘益大学完成建筑本科学位后,从加利福尼亚大学获得建筑硕士学位。后者在韩国梨花女子大 学完成建筑本科学位后,从普林斯顿大学获得建筑硕士学位。他们是注册建筑师。Young Jang曾在拉法埃尔·威尼奥利建筑事务所,斯蒂文·霍尔建筑事务所及首尔履露斋建筑事务所等国际知名建筑公司实践工作;Sook Hee Chun曾在纽约格瓦思梅·西格尔建筑师事务所与首尔履露斋建筑事务所实践工作。2008年,他们共同建立了WISE 建筑事务所。近期,他们又设计了首尔的ABC大楼与城墙式住宅,以及“¾ & 1¼”住宅。同时,他们还和其他艺术家一起合作了“Yi Sang’s House”项目,参与并策划了2010年的“移动盒子画廊展”项目,以及2011年的“竹楼”项目与2012年的“红管住宅”项目。

个人荣誉:

2011年,WISE获得第四届韩国年轻建筑师奖。随后的2012年,他们凭借“战争与女性人权博物馆”一举夺得首尔建筑奖。此外,他们还在韩国艺术综合大学担任建筑讲师一职,并在梨花女子大学参与教学活动。

案例分享:

 

战争与妇女人权博物馆
为了阻止武装冲突地区对待妇女的暴力行为,以及纪念太平洋战争期间的“慰安妇”事件,“战争与妇女人权博物馆”于2012年5月开幕。通过民间团体历时九年的努力,博物馆再现了妇女们在战乱年代被日军征为性奴的历史。博物馆由首尔麻浦区Seongmi山下的一座老房子翻建而成。这里总面积为308平方米,被分为两个楼层及一个地下室。博物馆如同一位叙事者,通过回忆、沉思、复原与记录来讲述故事。慰安妇的遗言一直沿着地下室铺上楼梯石墙。黑砖作为博物馆的主建材料,仿佛是为那些已逝的或已成为祖母的慰安妇而撰写的墓志铭。黑砖围墙连接着过去与未来,其背面是已逝慰安妇的悼念区,每块黑砖上都留有照片与遗言。建筑表皮上的每块砖都暗示了那些受难妇女们的悲惨命运。。

 

竹屋:
在韩国Kyung-book的Kasang-ri小镇里,有12栋被遗弃的住房,它们是当地人迁往城市后遗留下的。在部分拆除一座拥有300年历史的老屋后,建筑师用竹墙及竹顶翻新了这座竹屋。清风穿过竹墙吹入屋内,天空也跟进室内。现在这里被用作游客咨询中心。重建后的房屋为居民与游客提供了活动空间。竹屋的建造过程也曾是搬迁过程——比起新材料的使用,哪些需要保留、哪些需要拆除才是建筑师必须优先考虑的。