Architectures&Architects
Anna Heringer
Germany

Intro:

For Anna Heringer architecture is a tool to improve lives. At the age of 19 Anna spent a year in Bangladesh as development learner. Since then development-work is her passion. She established her international reputation in sustainable architecture with the construction of the METI School of Rudrapur, Bangladesh, a project she designed for her graduation thesis and carried out in 2006 together with Eike Roswag. Since then, Heringer has further developed her award-winning architectural approach based on the use of local building materials and labor in several building project in the same Bangladeshi village, as well as in her architectural teaching at the University of Arts Linz, the Stuttgart University and the Technical University in Vienna, where she obtained visiting professorships.

Honour:

Anna received a number of awards such as the Aga Khan Award for Architecture (2007), the AR Emerging Architecture Awards (2006 and 2008), the Archiprix–Hunter Douglas Award (2006) and the Global Award for Sustainable Architecture (2011).
Since 2010 she has been the honorary professor of the UNESCO Chair Earthen Architecture Programme. Last year she was a Loeb Fellow at Harvard`s GSD. Her work was exhibited around the world, in the MoMA in New York, the V&A Museum in London, the MAM in Sao Paulo and at the Venice Biennale among other places.

Case:

 

METI – Handmade School in Rudrapur

Rudrapur lies in the north of the most densely populated country on the earth. Poverty and the lack of an infrastructure drive many people from the countryside into the cities. The local NGO Dipshikha attempts to follow new paths with its development programme: the intention is to give the rural population perspectives and to help people learn about the value of the village in all its complexity. Part of this is a special school concept that instils in the children self-confidence and independence with the aim of strengthening their sense of identity.

 

 
 

HOMEmade - family houses in Bangladesh The HOMEmade project is sustainable for two main reasons: first, it is built with readily available, local, renewable resources – mud and bamboo. Second, it saves land for agriculture by building two-story buildings instead of single-story structures. Approximately 75% of the 147 million Bangladeshis live in villages – mainly in loam or bamboo houses. Although these traditional building materials are highly sustainable, villagers have an increasing desire to build homes out of bricks, concrete, and corrugated iron sheet (CI sheet). This trend could have a serious impact on the environment; fabrication of these materials requires a lot of energy and produces noxious emissions.

建筑师·建筑

Anna Heringer
德国

人物介绍:

对于安娜而言,建筑是一种提高生活品质的工具。19岁时,她花了整整一年时间在孟加拉国深入学习,从那时起,她便将自己的热情附在开拓性工作上。安娜的可 持续性建筑享有国际声誉——孟加拉国卢德拉普尔的METI手工制作学校便是她与Eike Roswag在2006年按其当初的毕业设计所建。之后,海瑞格结合当地工人技术及建筑材料,在同一个乡村里完成了另一些建筑项目,以进一步发展自己的建 筑方法。作为大学客座教授,该方法同样被应用于林茨艺术大学、斯图加特大学及维也纳技术大学的课程教学。

个人荣誉:

2006年,安娜获得全球建筑毕业设计大奖。第二年,她又荣获“阿卡罕”建筑奖,并于2006年及2008年赢得世界新锐建筑奖。2011年,获颁全球 可持续建筑奖。
2010年,她被联合国教科文组织授予名誉教授的称号。去年,她成为哈佛洛布学术协会会员。安娜的作品已在全球展出——纽约现代艺术博物馆,伦敦维多利亚与阿尔伯特博物馆,圣保罗现代艺术博物馆及威尼斯双年展等。

案例分享:

 

卢德拉普尔的手工制作学校(现代教育与培训学校)
卢德拉普尔位于世界人口最稠密国家的北部。贫困与基础设施的缺乏驱使大量当地人前往城市谋 生。孟加拉国的非政府组织“狄普须卡”,尝试跟进其发展计划来寻求一条新途径:重新审视农村人口问题,并帮助当地人重视农村发展。为了加强大家的认同感, 特殊学校的概念作为整个计划的一部分逐渐地灌输给孩子们。

 
 

手工住宅——孟加拉国的家庭住宅两个主要因素构成了这个手工住宅项目的可持续性:第一,住宅由当地现成的再生材料“泥与竹”建成;第二,相对于单层建筑而言,双层建筑的设计减少了对农业用地的占用。将近75%的1.47亿孟加拉国人民住在农村的土屋或竹屋里,尽管这些传统建筑的材料具有极高的可持续性,村民还是越来越渴望用砖块、混凝土、铁板来建造家园。这种发展趋势将对环境造成严重影响——消耗更多能源的同时产生大量有害气体。