Architectures&Architects
George Kunihiro
America

Intro:

George Kunihiro, FAIA, is a noted architect / educator. He is a Professor of Architecture at the Kokushikan University in Tokyo, Japan. Professor Kunihiro received Master of Architecture from Harvard University Graduate School of Design and Bachelor of Arts from the University of California / Berkeley. As an architect, In 1980, Professor Kunihiro began his private practice in San Francisco. Subsequently, he opened his office in Los Angeles and New York and designed numerous projects in the United States and in Japan. In 1997, Professor Kunihiro moved his base to Asia. For fifteen years, he has focused his practice and research on the modern Asian heritage in the contemporary society.

Honour:

Professor Kunihiro has received numerous international recognition including the Presidential Medals from the American Institute of Architects (AIA) and from Federacion de Colegios de Arquitectos de Mexico in recognition of significant contribution to the field of architecture. He was also selected to the 11th Annual Space Design Review in 1992, and received the Japan Commercial Environmental Design Award in 1993.
Professor Kunihiro has been active in promoting the profession and research in Asia. From 2011 to 2012, Professor Kunihiro served as the President of the Architects Regional Council Asia (ARCASIA), an organization of 18 national institutes of architects in Asia. He is currently the Vice Chairman of mAAN (modern Asian Architecture Network), an organization working to conserve and revitalize the 20th Century Asian heritage. With mAAN, Professor Kunihiro has organized international workshops on cultural and industrial heritage in China, Indonesia and Turkey. In 2009, Professor Kunihiro was elevated to the College of Fellows of the AIA. In 2011, he was appointed as Visiting Professor at prestigious Tsinghua University in Beijing, where he is currently a Senior Visiting Scholar. Since 2013, Professor Kunihiro serves as the International Director on the National Board of the AIA. He has also been a member on various international juries and lectured widely on the subject of modern architecture and urban design.

Case:

 

Hebei Provincial Sport Complex
In the major sports complex in the capital of Hebei Province, our team was responsible for the design of a sports university for 2000 students. The program consists of classrooms, a student center and a dormitory complex. Our design for the sports university expresses “movement”. The high-rise dormitory blocks form an undulated curvilinear composition, which represent dynamic movement of sports competition. The university buildings will also become a visual signage for the sports complex, being the tallest building on the sports complex site.

 

Weekend House in Kamakura MM
The house is located approximately a five-minute walk from the Yuigahama Beach in a quiet residential neighborhood of Kamakura. The owner requested a weekend house filled with natural light for a family of four.
Our design addressed the residential scale of the surrounding neighborhood and the proximity of the house to the Yuigahama Beach. The house provides for nature in two scales: the Japanese garden and a swimming pool on the ground floor; and the roof deck to relate to the distant view of the ocean. Main gathering spaces are on the second floor, equipped with sliding glass doors, which open wide to create ambiguous indoor-outdoor environment in the living room. For private quarters, the guest and maid’s rooms are located on the ground floor, while the owner’s bedrooms are on the third floor to guarantee their privacy. Natural light is controlled by horizontal wood louver screen placed over glazed wall on the south and west facades. Remarkable atmosphere similar to the wood screen façade of the traditional townhouses is created in the interior space, controlling light while letting ample light into the space. Carbon footprint of this weekend house is at a minimum level with passive design.

建筑师·建筑

George Kunihiro
美国

人物介绍:

国广乔治,美国建筑师协会会员,著名建筑师、教育家。从哈佛大学设计学院取得建筑学硕士后,他又在加州大学伯克利分校获得艺术学士学位。现在,他任职东京 国士馆大学的建筑系教授。1980年,国广教授在旧金山开设了私人事务所。随后,他在洛杉矶及纽约设立了办公室,并在美国和日本完成了大量建筑项目。 1997年,国广教授将自己的大本营迁至亚洲。十五年时间,他专注于自己的事务所,并潜心研究当代社会的现代亚洲文物建筑。

个人荣誉:

国广教授享有多项国际荣誉,其中包括美国建筑师协会的总统勋章。1992年,他被选为第十一届空间设计评审。之后的1993年,国广获颁日本商业环境设计 奖。在亚洲,国广教授积极活跃在建筑发展的相关领域。从2011年至2012年,他担任亚洲建筑师协会(一个由十八位国家级建筑师组成的机构)主席。他还 是亚洲近代建筑网络(mAAN,一个以保护及复兴20世纪亚洲建筑遗产为主的组织)副主席。在印度尼西亚与土耳其,国广教授和mAAN一起组织了国际文化 及工业遗产研讨会。2009年,他被提升为美国建筑师协会院士团团员。2011年,被任命为北京清华大学的客座教授,在那里他担任了高级访问学者一职。自 2013年起,他任职美国建筑师协会委员会的国际主任。同时,他也是多个国际陪审团成员,并广泛开展以近代建筑及城市设计为主题的演讲活动。

案例分享:

 

河北省体育中心建筑群
该项目位于河北石家庄,是为一所体育大学而设计的体育中心建筑群,可容纳2000名学生。体育中心由教室、学生活动中心、宿舍楼组成。建筑师强调了“动感”这一概念——宿舍区的波状曲线设计体现出体育竞技活力。这些建筑物将是此区域的最高建筑,成为体育中心的视觉标识。

 

该项目位于日本镰仓的住宅区,距离由比滨海滩五分钟路程。设计必须考虑到四口之家的自然采光量,与周末度假的舒适性。我们根据住宅区周围邻居的居住比例,以及到海滩的距离来完成设计。日式花园、底层游泳池、海景天花板,使住宅显得更加亲近自然。第二层的聚会空间里配有滑拉玻璃门,完美地展现了客厅与室内外环境的融合性。在底层的私人生活区里设有客房与佣人房,来保证三楼主卧室的隐私性。南面与西面的玻璃墙外,木制百叶窗的设计,可随心所欲地控制自然光照。同时,与外墙形成统一风格的室内设计也起到了控制采光的作用。被动式设计最大限度地降低了碳排放量。