Architectures&Architects
Kengo Kuma
Japan

Intro:

Kengo Kuma was born in 1954. He completed his master’s degree at the University of Tokyo in 1979. From 1985 to 1986, he studied at Columbia University as Visiting Scholar. He established Kengo Kuma & Associates 1990. He taught at Keio University from 2001 to 2008, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign in 2008, and in 2009, he was installed as Professor at the Graduate Schoolof  Architecture, University of Tokyo.
Among Kuma’s major works are Kirosan Observatory (1995), Water/Glass (1995, received AIA Benedictus Award), Stage in Forest, Toyoma Center for Performance Arts (received 1997 Architectural Institute of Japan Annual Award), Stone Museum (received International Stone Architecture Award 2001), Bato-machi Hiroshige Museum (received The Murano Prize). Recent works include Great Bamboo Wall (2002, Beijing, China), Nezu Museum (2009, Tokyo), Yusuhara Marche and Wooden Bridge Museum (2010). A number of large projects are also going on abroad, including arts centre in Besancon City, France, Granada, Spain, and a new Victoria & Albert Museum building in Dundee, Scotland U.K..

Honour:

He was awarded the International Spirit of Nature Wood Architecture Award in 2002 (Finland), International Architecture Awards for the Best New Global Design for “Chokkura Plaza and Shelter” in 2007, and Energy Performance + Architectutre Award in 2008 (France).
He is an International Fellow of RIBA, UK, and Honorary Fellow of AIA in the US. Kengo Kuma is also a prolific writer / critic and his books have been translated into English, Chinese and other languages.

Case:

 

Great (Bamboo) Wall
As for the material, we used bamboo as much as possible, since it’s considered as having a significant meaning among Chinese and Japanese cultures. Depending on density of bamboo and its each diameter, it offers a variety of partitioning of space. Making the most of that characteristics, we decided to place a bamboo WALL, a layer of bamboo along the site’s inclination just like the Great Wall. The Great Wall in the past partitioned off two cultures, but this BAMBOO WALL would not only partition but also unite life and culture in various manners as the Great Wall in particles.

 

 

Yusuhara Wooden Bridge Museum

This is a plan to link two public buildings with a bridge-typed facility, which had been long separated by the road in between. The museum technically bridges communications in this area. It functions not only as a passage between the two facilities but also as an accommodation and workshop, ideal location for artist-in-residence programs. In this project, we challenged a structural system which composes of small parts, referring to cantilever structure often employed in traditional architecture in Japan and China. It is a great example of sustainable design, as you can achieve a big cantilever even without large-sized materials.

建筑师·建筑

隈研吾
日本

人物介绍:

隈研吾,1954年出生于日本,1979年在东京大学获得硕士学位。1985年至1986年间,他以访问学者的身份就读于美国哥伦比亚大学。1990年, 他在东京青山创立了隈研吾建筑都市设计事务所(Kengo Kuma & Associates)。之后的2001至2008年,隈研吾就职于庆应义塾大学;并于2008年在美国伊利诺大学香槟分校任职。第二年,他在东京大学的 建筑研究生院担任教授一职。
隈研吾的主要作品有龟老山气象台(1995年),水/玻璃(1995年,后获得美国建筑学会杜邦Benedictus 奖),森林舞台,Toyoma性能展 示艺术中心(1997年,获得1997年日本建筑学会年度奖),石头博物馆(2000年,获得2001年国际石造建筑奖),巴托町广重博物馆(获得慕拉诺 奖)。
最近的作品包括竹屋(2002年,中国北京),根津美术馆(2009年,东京),梼原木桥博物馆(2010年)。还有更多项目正在进行——贝桑松、法国、格拉纳达的艺术中心,以及英国敦提的维多利亚-阿尔伯特博物馆。

个人荣誉:

2002年隈研吾获授芬兰自然木造建筑精神奖,后凭“Chokkura广场”获颁2007年芝加哥国际建筑奖之最佳全球设计奖, 同作品于2008年再次获得法国节能及建筑奖。
此外,隈研吾还是英国皇家建筑师协会会员,以及美国建筑师协会荣誉会员。作为一名多产作家及评论家,他的书籍已被翻译成多国语言。

案例分享:

 

竹屋:
由于“竹”在中日文化中极具象征意义,因此我们尽可能多地用竹来作为建筑材料。竹的密度与其直径为我们提供了多样化的空间分割法,为了充分体现这一特性,我们决定设计一面竹墙,使其沿斜面而上,如同长城本身一般。长城曾将两种文化相互分隔,但这面竹墙将带来独立而统一的融合性——让不同领域的生活与文化有机结合,成为长城的一部分。

 

梼原木桥博物馆:
该桥型博物馆位于马路中央,将长期被道路分隔的两座公共建筑融为一体,联系了整块区域。在作为人行天桥的同时,更为我们提供了住宿空间与工作空间,是艺术家的理想选择。在中国及日本的传统建筑中经常可以看见悬臂结构,由小构件组成的结构系统极富挑战性——不用大型材料来完成大悬臂的设计。对于可持续性建筑,这是一个成功的范例。